riding the medication roller coaster

Start with percocet.
Stay there for a few weeks.
Increase dose and frequency.
Ride the slow climb up, up, up …
Then dive for the bottom
Where, after four months
They decide you are becoming addicted
And it’s time to drop the med.

That’s ok – there are others – long acting ones

Morphine — allergic

Fentanyl — allergic

honestly there’s a couple others I can’t remember …

New slope – opana (oxymorphone)
Start this next weekend.

Hopefully I can exit this ride with this latest med…

I’m running low on the percocet.

16 thoughts on “riding the medication roller coaster

      • The morphine patch releases so slowly I wonder if that would make a difference. Tramadol is often used for pain in area. I like because no zombie effect. I take 2 every 4-6 hours and 2 at bed. It never has bothered my stomach. I was lucky, I had so many reactions to meds over the past 3 yrs it’s crazy. One drug that my Lyme doctor prescribed had a huge warning like third sentence down to prescribe if taking any stimulants. I was Psychotic for over a week. The ask tried to say they work differ. I let him no very clearly he made a big medical mistake. I’ve taken so many meds for Mental Health and Lyme, I don’t put anything in my mouth without going to FDA.gov site. Except when to sick.
        One aspect of having mental illness was accepting meds were for life. Once stabilized, I’ve gone down to the lowest level of meds at 5-6 and only 2 are addictive they require a slow cut back. I took 14 pills in am at one point, it took me all the way to work to get them down.
        Steroids also work well for me for injuries on a short term bases. If he’s done surgery why are still having so much pain?
        M

        Liked by 1 person

        • accident. car was totalled 14 years ago. they did some surgery then – enough to where I was functional and no pain. Then fell on the ice last winter and did more damage. With my age and the type of damage, they’re afraid any surgery would make pain worse.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Marcus
          That sucks, I can understand chronic pain but 14 years is a long time.
          You know how special you are to me. I would never hurt you or invade your privacy knowingly. I sent two emails to you and don’t know if you received? I’ve asked with no response. Have I crossed a line and don’t realize it. You are so open in your writing, answering questions and super cool dude. Level with me, I feel a general dissatisfaction and I’m clueless. Please give it to me straight. I want us to work together for a long time.
          Huge Hugs
          M
          msandorm@verizon.net

          Like

  1. I am familiar with that rollercoaster. I’ve been fortunate that, perhaps by luck, a combination of things have alleviated my pain greatly (the change from winter to summer mainly, but also RMT, meditation and focusing in on stress management which seems to be my trigger). I am not batting 100%, but I am not having those horrible acute pain flare ups that would have me locked up in the room with the windows taped over with black sheets so I could hide from the darkness. Sadly, pain has seem to have become an industry, and I don’t know if we are getting access to the best choices and if I was ever at Six Flags, I’d probably ride that rollercoaster again, just for fun, but that’s an example of what not to do. 🙂 Harlon

    Liked by 1 person

      • It seems to me that pain management is pretty multi-disciplinary, so if you can manage it, I think the more different approaches you try, the better. Doesn’t mean you have to stick with them all, but I’ve been surprised what worked for me.

        Liked by 1 person

        • finding a psychiatrist is turning out to be much more difficult than I had thought. I realize if I don’t like the guy when we first meet, I can try another – but moving from doc to doc is about as much fun as trying different meds.

          Liked by 1 person

        • I am not too sure where you live, but yet, finding a psychiatrist is difficult. For me, living in Canada, in took about 12 years of being on a waiting list before I could access that I didn’t have to pay for. Then, I think psychiatry is so much about “the right fit”. I got lucky and my guy is amazing, but I totally get what you are saying about going from one doc to another and how that is liking switching meds all the time. If you can, maybe ask around, if you know people that you feel are struggling similarly to you, and see if they found someone that worked for them. If you are in Toronto, I can so recommend someone for you. Cheers mate, Harlon

          Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks Harlon. I don’t know anyone who has the same issues – but I may talk to the surgeon who investigated my shoulder. He spent weeks talking to his colleagues before he finally said nothing he could do. He might know of a psychiatrist to try. Or even one to stay away from …

          Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts

