power of choice

“Take the pill.  It will help your chronic pain.”

“It says it can ’cause or worsen’ my depression.  What happens if I take it then wake up in the middle of the night wanting to die?”

“Then you call for help.”

“Doctor, have you ever been depressed?  I mean seriously, want-to-take-your-life depressed?”

“No, can’t say that I have.”

“Then you have no idea what this is like for me.”

“We have excellent psychiatrists and therapists within the HMO…”

“Who do me no good if I wake up at a point where I am too depressed to look for help.”

“It’s your choice.  The chances of it worsening your depression are slight, but it’s your choice.”

“So I can chose between possibly lessening my pain and possibly killing myself.  Not much of a choice.”

“Is there anything else?  I have other patients that need to see me.”

“I don’t want to keep you from someone important.”

“I’ve sent the prescription to the pharmacy.  You can pick it up on your way out.”

“Thanks, Doctor.  You’ve been a great help.”

“That’s why I’m here.  Come back in four weeks and let me know how you’re doing with the new medication.”

“Sure.  Assuming I take it.”

“Again, that is your choice.”

“Right.  Goodbye then, Doctor.”

“Bye.”

 

sometimes giving a manic depressive the choice of taking a medication unsupervised that could end up being his road to death … or is that it?  the all-powerful HMO has made their choice as well – allow problem patients to remove themselves from the equation.  that way the HMO only has to deal with patients who don’t need them in the first place.

easy money.

One thought on “power of choice

What are your thoughts

