message from within

I want you to stop
  trying to remember
    the bad that happened
      when we were little

We both know it happened
  We both know it hurt
I suffered from it then
  you suffer from it now
    I just remember more than you do

But I want you to stop trying to remember
  all the bad things
    and instead
      walk through other memories from me

There were rainbows, and fields full of flowers
  hills to roll down
    or slide down when it snowed
milk weed
  with the gigantasaurus blossoms
    that would explode
      with a puff of air
    sending all its little angels with umbrellas
  floating
and I would sit and watch
  and watch
    and tell myself another story

I don’t know if you remember the stories
    I don’t remember the stories
  I guess maybe they were for the time right then
    not something to be saved

I also want you to take some time
  and remember mommy and daddy
    because I miss them very very much
they weren’t always mean and angry
  not ‘til after the bad things

Remember the sunshine
  laying in the grass
    watching the clouds go by
      dreaming of flying with eagles
    or swimming with whales

Remember the shale mountain
  with the snail shells
or climbing to the castle
  where you could see heaven

Remember the things that made us smile
  maybe they can make you smile again
    so you don’t hurt anymore

And maybe we’ll be a little stronger
  Before the monsters return
      next time

10 thoughts on “message from within

What are your thoughts

