a brief moment of clarity

I could scream
      in your face
I could jump up and down
      and rail against you
            Fury has boiled in me for years
But I’m just going to walk away —

What you did left a scar –
         but scars don’t define me
   What you did was wrong –
            but it doesn’t control me
      What you did was humiliating –
                  but it’s over

Yes, I could definitely unload some anger in your face
But like I said, I’m just going to walk away
      Why?
Quite honestly –
                  you’re not worth the effort

8 thoughts on “a brief moment of clarity

  1. Beautifully said!

    I’ve come to realize that my abuse doesn’t define me. Surviving it, and the “tornado years” afterwards actually gives me a strength I’m quite fond of. When I’m mired in self doubt or shame, I sometimes have to remind myself that “I AM!!” But some days it’s hard to do…

    Keep sharing, my brother!

    Like

What are your thoughts

