a sunny day

I look out my window
    at dark, rolling clouds
    flooding rain
    and angry flashes of light

so very different than yesterday
    when the sun was bright
    and warm
    the scent of wildflowers
    filled the air
    with the occasional drone of a honey bee
    or a glimpse of the tissue-soft wings
    of a butterfly as it passes

on a sunny day I could, for the moment,
    ignore the stench of my world

        the grass is a soft bed
        of richest aroma
        one blade
        carefully and properly held
        between two thumbs
        will form a reed horn
        blowing across it brings the honking sound
        of a very sick goose
        and catapults me into giggles,
        and joyful laughter

on a sunny day I could, for the moment,
    forget the evil that was at home

        I could run thru these fields forever
        my arms spread
        fingertips lightly brushing
        the top of plants as I pass
        bringing the illusion of me
        skimming the surface of this grand sea of colors
        trailing the bee
        and butterfly

on a sunny day I could, for the moment,
    be a child again
    and not an oaf
    stupid fool
    or unwanted accident

and even now
    after the passing of too many dark nights
    I can remember the warmth
    the infrequent sounds and smells
    of complete abandon
    in the world of my childhood

and shed a tear
    in memory

        of a sunny day

4 thoughts on “a sunny day

What are your thoughts

