My Pride Is Bulletproof: A Queer Puerto Rican on Life After Orlando

This says it so well. Family, REAL family, does not let go. We stand together. Wearing bullet-proof pride.

Repeating Islands

Screen Shot 2016-06-16 at 11.31.25 PM.pngShooting at Pulse nightclub was an act of terror meant to keep LGBT people in the shadows, Eliel Cruz writes for Rolling Stone.

It could have been me. I could have had my body riddled with bullets, my blood spilled, clothes drenched, crawling for my life on the dance floor of a gay bar.

I had just returned from a Brooklyn gay bar, my queer friends and I dancing with drag queens to celebrate Brooklyn Pride, when I opened Twitter and saw that another shooting was taking place. As I sat on my bed refreshing my timeline trying to find facts it quickly became clear the victims of America’s latest mass violence were Latinx – a gender neutral term for the Latino community – queer individuals.

Forty-nine black and brown queer and allied bodies slain under disco lights by a gunman wielding an assault rifle. Bodies that were once…

View original post 881 more words

What are your thoughts

