The wheels on the bus really do go round and round

I must apologize, I have absolutely NO idea why I gave this post the title it has. I went to blog and that’s what came to my mind, so that’s what’s there. So, on with the show (or on with the actual post)

[The post probably should have been titled something about ‘luck‘ or ‘superstition‘.]

Friday of next week will be the 13th. Friday the 13th. I am not the superstitious type, I do not believe in luck. Actually, keeping with my faith, I don’t believe in coincidence either. [that could be its own post – if we posted faith items]

Friday the 13th. My sister was born on Friday the 13th. Ok, she was born on the 13th and I am sure from her … activities with me, I just claim it was a Friday. She was born first, so how could I know unless I got it from my parents. And that isn’t something we talked about. Them and me, I mean. Whether or not it was discussed with my siblings I have no idea. I also have no idea what day of the week I was born on … not that it matters.

I don’t have a rabbit’s foot, I don’t avoid cracks in the sidewalk, I am fine around black cats, I will walk under a ladder (if no one is on it), and the list goes on. [There’s a song … ‘And the list goes on…. The list goes on… Drums keep pounding rhythm to the brain…] When I was little and in the middle of abuseville, I believed in luck. Everyone had luck but me. Or we could just quote my father and say my life is just “luck of the draw”.

I actually do the “knock on wood” thing. But it’s more a social convention or habit. I wish something so simple could change some future event to go my way – but knocking on wood doesn’t. And, as also a social convention in some circles, I knock on my head when I say “knock on wood”. So would most of the people I work with. [a really strange bunch, but their not abusive so they must be ok]

I’ve done the Ouija board and Tarot cards. Part way into the Ouija board thing I quit. Kinda hate to admit it, but I chickened out. My nerves were getting more and more edgy – something I never want to experience again. The Tarot cards reading was a riot. My friend had me shuffle the cards then hand them back to her. She flipped over the first card – Death – upside down. She picked it back up and set the deck aside, refused to go any further. Wouldn’t tell me why – she just wouldn’t. [for what it’s worth, I silently prayed blessings over the cards as I shuffled them…] Ran into her a few days later – she said she had the throw the cards out; they never worked right after I had them. I know what I believe happened, but I will leave your interpretation of it totally in your hands.

So I’m sitting here wondering why I decided to post and why I chose this stuff to use as my post. I have no answers for you [not too surprising, if you know me] but then I don’t know that the reason is all that much important. I’m doing what I’m doing [another brilliant statement] – it’s title stands and this gets posted.

[in case your wondering, the stuff in square brackets is the abuse-memory part of my brain commenting. stuff in parentheses is just stuff in parentheses.]

What are your thoughts

