father’s day card

I never realized
At least not till today
How much of my behavior
Is from the things you used to say

I make every effort
To keep my intelligence in the light
I guess that comes from you telling me
That I just wasn’t very bright

I have no sense of humor
I’m pretty cut and dry
But you always said I was no good at jokes
And that I shouldn’t even try

My stories you thought foolish
My curiosity – inane
If anyone needed punished
We both know who you would blame

It really is ironic
And possibly quite sad
The day I needed most a hero
Instead I had you for a dad

One thought on “father’s day card

  1. Reblogged this on survivor road and commented:

    You’d think by now I’d be able to let go of this … yet here it is, another year later, and I’m still re-reading this thing. It validates me in so many ways … SIGH.

    Like

What are your thoughts

