note to the inner child

I’m sorry Marc
I’m sorry for all the pain
   and garbage
      you had to deal with alone
If I had been there
I would have done my best to protect you

I would have untied the ropes
   and never let your older brother
      torture you in that chair
I would have unlocked the door
I would have let you in the house
   and dried your tears never making fun
      of what your sisters did
I would have kept that man away
   He never would have taken you there
Your brother and his friends
   would never have held you down
I would have protected you
   all those times you cried alone
      too afraid to let anyone know

I wasn’t there – But I’m here now
   and I promise with all that is in me
I will never let another person humiliate you again
I will give all I have to protect you
   and the truth you carry
I will honor and respect you
I accept you for who you are
   and I will believe whatever you tell me

You are a brave little boy and I am so very proud of you
Your incredible spirit has made me the man I am today
Your heart gives me the strength to love beyond measure
Your laugh still makes me smile
   even though I haven’t heard it for years

I will remain here –
   waiting until the day you accept my love
      and trust me enough to let me in
   and if you never do – I will still be here

Because thanks to who you are
   I have the strength and courage to be who I am

and I love you

8 thoughts on “note to the inner child

  1. My heart goes out to that little boy – I wish I could’ve protected him too. The man you have become because of this little boy is what defines you, in spite of what happened – but not by what happened to you. Your battle is forever, just don’t make it against yourself 🙂

    Like

  2. My heart goes out to that little boy – I wish I could’ve protected him too. The man you have become because of this little boy is what defines you, in spite of what happened – but not by what happened to you. Our battles are forever, just don’t make it against yourself 🙂

    Like

    • “don’t make it against yourself” … at face value someone might say “HUH?” but I understand that completely. I have done that fight for sometime. And against the “inner child” – understanding and accepting what was done as fact (and history!) has been a difficult but rewarding step. The battles may be forever, but their impact (I hope) will become more manageable and less destructive. Thank you for stopping by!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for sharing 🙂 and understanding! I guess when you have had to fight you recognize this. I’m in the fight myself and am so struggling to accept certain things – logically, spiritually – all the ally’s but for some reason my heart remains sad and connot accept…maybe accept is not even the right word. 🙂 but again, thanks for a point of light!

        Like

        • It took a while for me to realize that accepting that those things happened is NOT accepting them as good, or right. They were wrong — but they happened. Was a much harder separation than I would have guessed. Sadness is part of this path too. Sharing can help.

          Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts

