to the family that never was

cold
   bitter cold
it cuts through my coat
   tearing at my skin
   until I am chilled to the bone
      the very marrow of my existence

to leave the cold
   to escape its grasp
I must leave the wind

so too is your … love
it tears at my soul
   until I am wearied beyond measure
      my heart pounding in my ears
      my breath short and ragged

and so similar, the solution
   to become free of frigid touch of your words
      to escape your grasp
   I must leave your presence

so please,
   don’t ask why I won’t visit
      why I do not answer when you call
      indeed, why I treat you as nonexistent
no, don’t ask

not when the reason should be so apparent

What are your thoughts

